CNPS Forums  

Go Back   CNPS Forums > CNPS Public Forums > Growing Natives Discussion Forum

Old 11-24-2015, 11:36 AM
Forum Member

Nicole is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Watering dilemma for new plants in clay soil

I am new to gardening, especially with natives, and my husband and I have spent that past 6 weeks installing new hardscaping and planting nearly 100 natives in our yard. After all that work I'm very nervous about over/under watering while getting the plants established. We're in Los Angeles, Sunset Climate Zone 22 (but only a few miles inland from the coastal zone 24). I've consulted every source I can find, but much of the information seems contradictory for my specific situation. These are the guidelines I am trying to follow:
1) Water deeply and infrequently to encourage deep roots
2) Wait to water until the top 3-4 inches of soil are dry
3) Keep the root ball moist for at least the first 2 months after planting
4) In general expect to water about once a week, but will vary based on soil, sun, climate, temperature, etc.
5) Water the area around the plant, don't just soak the root ball to avoid root rot.

Here's my dilemma: