PDA

View Full Version : Growing Bryophytes-An Introduction

terrestrial_man
02-10-2015, 03:53 AM
For an 8 year period from 2004 to 2012 I conducted a series of tests so as to discover how to grow a variety of mosses. While I had been growing one moss species in a bog type setting since 1967, I had not really attempted to use this species from Humboldt County in any type of cultural tests.
This effort to try and learn how to grow mosses here in the Santa Maria Valley was a challenge which I recognized as being difficult due to our inhospitable weather for a broad range of moss species that could be found more abundantly in northern California. The combination of warm summers and wind, especially the Santa Ana winds, as well as the general lack of information on their cultivation, made this effort one of continual monitoring of the test mosses.
Because I was feeling around in the dark about growing these non-vascular plants I had a number of dismal failures but over the course of time I have developed SOME understanding of what it takes to keep them alive in a relatively hostile alien environment (apart from the few that do occur in this area naturally).
I shall be adding comments with images explaining the tactics that I have found that work. But first here is an image that simply blew my mind whenever I was out spraying the plants.
http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s184/jwcimage/Mosses/GAMossIS.jpg
This moss colony was received in March 2007 from the Piedmont of Georgia. It naturally occurs on a clayey type of soil.
This photo was takened 23 September 2010.

terrestrial_man
02-10-2015, 08:33 PM
Unlike angiosperms, for which there is a basic standardized treatment of a plastic pot and potting soil, there is no particular substrate that appears universal in its application for terrestrial and epiphytic moss species, though the recent experimentation using felt has promised some success towards this end.